Late? Girl Ray advise not to “go back at ten”.

Girl Ray's new single

Everyone is getting excited, and no, it’s just not about the changes that will be happening shortly at Strange Fruit Radio, but it’s also about the debut album “Earl Grey” from London trio, Girl Ray.

They’ve already released a couple of tracks from it, one of which has been added to the playlist of Strange Fruit Radio, it’s called “Don’t Go Back At Ten” and is available via Moshi Moshi Records.

Of the track, Poppy Hankin said: “After a break-up I was super low, and as clichéd and teen-movie as it sounds, it was truly my friends who got me through it, making sure that I didn’t just mope about the whole time eating pots of cottage cheese and crying. I guess I wrote this one to cheer myself up in a way. Not many of the songs on the album are happy but this one is, kinda!”

The band, as well as releasing the new single, have also announced a number of UK tour dates towards the end of the year, which will include journeys to and around Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Glasgow, Birmingham, Oxford, Bristol and Brighton (see below).

Last stop on the tour, is a gig they have already announced at London’s Gala.

Here are the tour dates:


30 Liverpool, Liverpool Music Week
31 Leeds, Headrow House


01 Manchester, Gullivers
02 Glasgow, Broadcast
03 Newcastle, Think Tank Underground
05 Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
06 Oxford, The Cellar
07 Bristol, Louisiana
08 Brighton, Green Door Store
09 London, Scala

If you’ve been good and read this entire article, have a look and listen to “Don’t Go Back At Ten” right here: